Nathan Davis: Hollow Skies (2011)

  • Performance Date: 2011
  • Season: 2010-11
  • Composer Name: Nathan Davis
  • Composer Dates: b. 1973
  • Composer URL:
  • Premiere Region: World Premiere
  • Performers: Nathan Davis, percussion, composer
    Tony Arnold, soprano
    Eric Lamb, flute
    Campbell MacDonald, clarinet
    Joshua Rubin, clarinet
    Rebekah Heller, bassoon/guitar
    David Byrd-Marrow, horn
    Peter Evans, trumpet
    Gareth Flowers, trumpet/toy piano
    Jennifer Curtis, violin/mandolin
    Erik Carlson, violin
    Kivie Cahn-Lipman, cello/electric bass
    Daniel Lippel, guitar
    Jacob Greenberg, piano
    Levy Lorenzo, sound engineer
  • Duration: 54' 13"

ICElab 2011 composer Nathan Davis (b. 1973) has crafted a cycle of beautiful new works for a small combination of instruments that transform into an architecture of color, texture, rhythm and breath. Using microphones as microscopes, he draws out the fine details of sound that exist all around us, making music that magnifies the essential characteristics of instruments and the fragile athleticism of playing them.