Phyllis Chen: Glass Clouds We Have Known (2011)

  • Performance Date: 2011
  • Season: 2011-12
  • Series: Baryshnikov Arts Center (BAC)
  • Composer Name: Phyllis Chen
  • Composer URL:
  • Precise Instrumentation: flute, bass clarinet, sound bowls, toy piano, piano, with electronics and video
  • Performers: Phyllis Chen, Cory Smythe, Eric Lamb, Josh Rubin
  • Duration: 14' 11"

Composer's Notes

When asked to write a new piece for ICE I wondered, "How do I use a group of performers that are so dynamic and virtuosic?" It was both exciting and challenging for me to find a collaborative space for something I am accustomed to doing alone. I wanted to create pieces that reflect the tactile nature of my toy piano works, where all the performers are exploring the miniature timbres and instruments I love most. ICE quickly became extendable arms for me.